How to Register for School
- Elementary Schools: website | Phone: 850.983.5062
- Middle Schools: website | phone: 850.983.5060
- High Schools: website | phone: 850.983.5056
Table of Contents
- Age Requirements
- Birth Certificate
- Health Examination for School Entry
- Immunization Requirements
- Proof of Residency
- School Records
- Social Security Numbers
Any child shall be eligible for admission to kindergarten if he or she has attained the age of five (5) years on or before September 1 of the school year. However, a child who transfers from another state shall be admitted under the same age requirements as established in the state where he or she previously resided.
For admission to first grade, a student shall be six (6) years old on or before September 1 of the school year and shall satisfy one (1) of the following requirements:
(a) Previous enrollment and attendance in a Florida public school;
(b) Satisfactory completion of kindergarten as specified in Florida Statute; or
(c) Previous attendance in an out-of-state school into which he or she was admitted on the basis of age requirement established by the state of residency.
A copy of the child’s proof of age, the birth certificate, must be supplied at the time of enrollment. (Many schools will make a copy of the certificate for you.)
If any person other than a natural parent has custody of a child, proof of legal custody or guardianship must be provided before the child may be enrolled in a Santa Rosa County public school.
If your child lives in Santa Rosa County, he or she is eligible for a FREE hearing screening/hearing evaluation provided by the Santa Rosa School District. Please contact Barbara in the Santa Rosa School District Audiology Clinic at 850-626-3072 to set up a time to have your child’s hearing tested. You will know the results at the time of testing and results will be furnished to your child’s school.
Students in grades kindergarten through 12th grade who are making their initial entry into a Florida school must present a record of a physical examination completed within the past 12 months. The exam record should be taken to the child’s school upon enrollment. Although a specific form is not required, it is recommended that Florida’s standardized School Entry Exam form (DH 3040) be used to document completion of a physical examination. It must be completed by a health care provider licensed to perform physical examinations. For students transferring to a Florida school, a comparable form from another state would be acceptable, if completed within 1 year. Visit the Florida Dept. of Health for more information.
Florida Statute 1003.22 requires each child entering a Florida school for the first time to present a certificate of immunization from a licensed practicing physician or the county health department prior to entry into school. Pre-kindergarten and kindergarten students must have current immunizations and physical examinations before registration. Seventh grade students have five (5) school days to become compliant with immunizations or they will be excluded from school. Other students including children enrolling under emergency or homeless conditions will be allowed thirty (30) days from the registration date to present the certification requirement. All immunizations must be recorded on the Florida Certificate of Immunization (Form 680). Visit Immunize Florida for information on the Florida Immunization Schedule.
A document or photocopy showing your name and your home address in Florida. Examples include utility bills, bank statements, insurance policies, pay stubs, or government documents, lease/rental agreement in the parent’s/guardian’s name. (Post office boxes are not sufficient.) A driver’s license is NOT acceptable.
The following school records are needed for registration:
- Students latest report card and/or transcript is needed for appropriate grade placement.
- Withdrawal form or report card from previous school is required at registration.
- Current Individual Education Plan (IEP) (Required if the student is an ESE student, gifted, SLD, speech, etc.)
The school will ask to include the social security number in the student’s permanent records, though a student is not required to provide his or her social security number as a condition for enrollment or graduation. For more information please refer to Florida Statute: 1008.386.